Exploring the Nail Stamping Trend

Photo from thenailsaurus.com

Photo from thenailsaurus.com

Honestly, I hate nail stamping. Mostly because I suck at it. Those who can do it properly have super cool results, but not me. I have these plates that I won in a contest so luckily I didn’t pay for something I barely use. I’ve practiced and practiced but I just can’t get the hang of it. Is it the polish? Is it the stamper? I don’t know. BUT, the artists who do have the hang of it can do it very well. For example…

Photo from Copycat Claws (blogspot)

Photo from Copycat Claws (blogspot)

And then there’s me.

Photo by me

Photo by me

It’s shameful, really.

Okay, enough of my personal pity party. Let’s talk about the act of nail stamping! Stamping requires:

  • A stamping plate
  • A rubber stamper (these generally come in big or small and sometimes double-sided for ultimate convenience)
  • A scraper (you can also use a credit or gift card)
  • Quality polish (the most popular is Konad which I believe is made specifically for stamping)

To begin, choose a plate and a design. Apply polish liberally over the design. Use a scraper to scrape the excess polish off the design, and, working quickly, press the stamper onto the design and then carefully press onto desired nail.

Easy? Not really. I think it all comes down to the type of stamp. Nail stamping is dependent on the stamper picking up the design. It may also depend on the type of polish, but I haven’t experimented enough to decide whether the brand of polish matters.

Single plates are usually cheap, $1-$3, and some stamper sets come with one plate. I recommend a lot of practice if you want to be good at stamping. Comment below if you’ve tried stamping. What do you think is the biggest factor to get good results?

One thought on “Exploring the Nail Stamping Trend

comments?

