#NOTW

This weekend was chilly and rainy. Personally I love the rain and cold, and since my birthday is next week I was feeling mega excited so I decided my nails for the weekend would be bright and cheery, a sharp contrast from the weather outside. I was inspired by summer (strangely, I don’t like summer) and watermelon (also strange because I don’t like watermelon either.)

Image by me

Image by me

I used a couple different techniques for this. For the stripes I used striping tape and the dots were with my dotting tool. The colors I used were Sally Hansen “Green with Envy” and an unnamed Bonita pink.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Striping tape is your best friend when you want perfect stripes and you can use it for other designs too by layering the tape; for example crossing multiple pieces of tape can create diamonds and vertical and horizontal tape can result in checks. It’s also ridiculously inexpensive: 10 rolls for under $1 on Amazon. An efficient way to store striping tape is in an empty regular tape dispenser (credit to Reddit for this idea).

Image by me

Image by me

Dotting tools are also a great investment and are super cheap too (Amazon). You can use dotting tools for, yes, dots but the smallest point can be used in making detailed drawings on your nails.

comments?

